And the Bodies Smell Like Mango…

I’ve always wanted to attend a Fashion Week. The city didn’t really matter… The people, the style, the air… the event itself is what attracted me the most. And yesterday that dream came true. And what better city to be my first one that my hometown? But things don’t stop there: not only I got the chance to step into the Bienal (place where it takes place here in São Paulo), I also had the opportunity to watch a fashion show. Drum roll please… I present you: Ronaldo Fraga.

Eu sempre quis comparecer à um Fashion Week. A cidade não importava muito… Só as pessoas, o estilo, a vibe… O evento todo sempre me chamou atenção. E ontem esse sonho foi realizado. E que melhor cidade para ser a minha primeira do que a minha cidade natal? Mas as coisas não param por aí: eu não somente tive a chance de dar um passeio pela Bienal como também consegui assistir ao vivo um desfile. E de ninguém menos que Ronaldo Fraga.


He named his creation as “The Apprentice Tourist in the Land of the Pará-Seed”, promising to take us to the State of Pará (up north, in Brazil). Starting off with the setting, it was possible to see right of the bat what he wanted to accomplish: a real journey by this amazing place, that houses a part of the Amazon. The runway was  full of curves and an irregular road surrounded by Amazon’s plants. The lighting reminded me of a beautiful sunset in the forest. And the clothes… Oh gosh… For this pattern fanatic over here, was like a dream:

Sua criação foi batizada de “Turista Aprendiz na Terra do Grão-Pará”, que prometia nos levar para o estado do Pará. Começando pelo cenário, foi possível ver imediamente o que ele queria nos mostrar: uma jornada verdadeira por esse lugar incrível, casa de uma parte da Amazônia. A passarela era cheia de curvas, e com plantas Amazônicas a envolvendo. A iluminação me levou para um pôr-do-sol na floresta. E as roupas… ai ai… Para essa doida por estampas que vos fala, foi o paraíso.

(via FFW)

Here are my picks. I heard some people saying they didn’t really like the collection, that it was a bit too obvious, but I LOVED the patterns. The mix, the colors, the Brazilian mood… So as the fabrics! Even though he used mainly linen in his pieces, how amazing is the second dress? It’s the inside of a tree!!! Although there were a lot of long dresses that are not really my taste (I like to keep it short and cool for the summer), for me is was a hit.

In the end of the show there was a beautiful poem that Ronaldo wrote himself describing Pará (that’s where this post’s title comes from) through the eyes of Mário de Andrade, that I intend to put it here once his Publicists send it to me (SO excited for you to read it!!).

Well I hope you enjoyed this first runway post! There will be more to come!

Aqui estão as minhas favoritas. Eu ouvi algumas pessoas dizendo que não gostaram na coleção e que foi muito óbvia, mas eu AMEI as estampas. O mix, as cores, a vibe brasileira… Assim como os tecidos. Mesmo ele tendo usado linho na maioria das peças, me diz: quanto incrível é esse segundo vestido? Gente, é o interior de uma árvore!!! Ele também fez vestidos longos, mas não eram muito o meu estilo (gosto de ficar com o bom e fresco curtinho no verão). Para mim, a coleção foi um hit!

No final do desfile, um poema escrito por Ronaldo foi falado (foi daí que saíu o título desse post, “Os Corpos tem Cheiro de Manga”) descrevendo o Pará pelos olhos de Mário de Andrade que eu quero adicionar no post quando a Assessoria dele me mandar (quero muuuito que vocês o leiam!!).

Bom espero que vocês tenham gostado desse post desfile! Muitos outros virão!

Thank you for reading!
Agatha xo

ps: I also chatted for a bit with Daniela Falcão, head-editor of Vogue Brazil at the Vogue lounge. Was this day amazing or not??

ps: Também conversei um pouquinho com a Daniela Falcão, editora da Vogue Brasil no lounge da Vogue. Fala sério, esse dia foi incrível ou não??

Leave a Reply

