Aggie’s Eggplant Lasagna

My mom always told me that cooking is in my genes (apparently it goes waaaay back in my family), and I was dying to post a really great recipe “Made by Aggie” here on the blog. Last week I got the energy and all ingredients to do so. Yeyy!! Here it comes:

Minha mãe sempre me disse que cozinhar está no meu DNA (aparentemente está na nossa família há muitas gerações), e eu estava louca para postar uma receita completamente feita por mim aqui no blog. Semana passada eu tive a energia e os ingredientes para isso. Uuhul! Vamos lá:


I never cooked main meals following a recipe, so I hope I’m able to guide you through it as best as I can (next time I will have a video, promise). I added a few of ingredients throughout the process, but those ones are the most important.

Eu nunca cozinhei pratos principais com uma receita do lado, então espero que eu consiga guiar vocês do melhor jeito que der (da próxima vez vai vir com vídeo, prometo). Eu adicionei alguns ingredientes ao longo do caminho, mas esses aqui foram os mais importantes.


I started off by chopping only 4 tomatoes. Before putting them into the pan, I cooked the garlic and onions, along with some olive oil. When the mixture was brownish (and smelling heavenly) I added the tomatoes and water, and closed the pan. The mixture was cooked in high temperature and after 10-15 minutes I took off the lid. Then it was time for seasoning: oregano, black pepper, a couple of bay leaves, salt, and a little of sugar. Left it in the oven cooking for 5 minutes and turned it off. (The last photo is the topping sauce with eggplant)

Eu comecei cortando 4 tomates. Antes de colocá-los na panela, refoguei o alho e a cebola com um pouco de azeite, até que eles estivessem douradinhos e com aquele cheiro delícia. Depois adicionei os tomates e água, e fechei a panela. A mixtura foi cozinhada em fogo alto por 10-15 minutos. Aí tirei a tampa e adicionei os temperos: orégano, pimenta, duas folhas de louros, sal e um pouquinho de açúcar. Deixei no forno mais 5 minutos e desliguei. (A última foto é a “cobertura” da lasanha com beringelas)


While the Tomato Sauce was cooking, I started chopping off the eggplant. This part is VERY important, cause the eggplant needs to be not too thick and not too thin, so pay attention. I’m really good in chopping eggplants the way I want them, so I must tell you that it takes time to do it well. But I trust you! After chopping them, in a frying pan, add a little bit of olive oil. When the oil is warm, start grilling the eggplants. Not one on top of the other, please. Both sides have to be grilled, but pay attention cause the eggplants are really easy to burn.

Enquanto o molho de tomate estava cozinhando, eu comecei a cortar as beringelas. Essa parte é MUITO importante, porque elas não podem ficar nem muito grossas e nem muito finas, enão preste bastante atenção. Eu sou muito boa em cortar beringela do jeito que eu quero, então vou te falar que leva tempo para aprender. Mas eu confio em você! Depois de cortadas, elas vão para a frigideira (que já está com um pouquinho de azeite quente). Não coloque uma em cima da outra, pois ambos os lados precisam estar grelhados. Cuidado extra enquanto as fatias estiverem grelhando, beringela é mestre em ficar queimada.


Now it’s time to put everything together. Choose a pan that it not too big nor too small and start by laying the eggplant down. The sauce comes after and then the crumbled ricotta cheese. That’s the order until the end. Since my Tomato Sauce wasn’t enough, I did another small batch with 1 tomato and chopped eggplant to top it all off. And also added some parmesan cheese to make it more interesting. The oven was pre-heated oven in 160ºC/320ºF, and I increased to 250ºC/480ºF when it was time to cook. I left it there for 20 minutes.

Agora é a hora de colocar tudo junto. Escolha uma fôrma não muito grande e não muito pequena, e comece deitando as fatias de beringela. Logo depois vem o molho e por cima a ricota esfarelada. A ordem é a mesma até o fim. O molho de tomate com 4 tomates não foi suficiente, então eu fiz mais pouco de molho com 1 tomate, e juntando uns pedacinhos de beringela para cobrir a lasanha direitinho. Depois adicionei parmesão para ficar mais interessante. Levei no forno pré aquecido (160ºC), e quando a lasanha estava lá dentro, aumentei para 250ºC. Deixei lá por 20 minutos.

I simply adored the result! My parents are not vegetarian and loved it too! All fresh ingredients (minus the garlic and onions) is the best! Please, if you have any questions, that’s what the comment box is for. I will more than happy to answer them!

Eu gostei muuuuito do resultado! Meus pais que não são vegetarianos, amaram também! Sem nada em conserva (tirando o alho e a cebola) deixa tudo mais gostoso! Por favor, se você tiver alguma pergunta, é para isso que serve a caixa de comentários. Eu vou adorar respondê-las!

Thank you for reading!
Agatha xo

Leave a Reply

