The Beach Heaven

My friends know I’m a bit crazy. Even though I’m a Capricorn and I like to be organized and to have schedules, one of the things I love the most is to leave my life totally and completely up to fate. On Wednesday evening I arrived one more time in Rio and guess what? Without a place to stay. Any other person would go nuts, worrying about “Wtf am I going to do?”. Well, as for me I just called the first near by hostel that Google showed to me, and booked my bed (it was 10pm already). I arrived in that place at 4am (after a great and long chat with a close friend) and even at night time I realized how special was this place. Meet “Pontal Hostel“.

Meus amigos sabem que sou um pouco maluquinha. Mesmo sendo Capricorniana, super organizada e gostar bastante de planos, uma das coisas que mais amo é deixar a vida totalmente e completamente nas mãos do destino. Na Quarta-Feira de tardezinha aterrisei novamente no Rio and adivinha? Sem um lugar para dormir. Qualquer outra pessoa entraria em pane e desespero completo, mas somente liguei para o albergue mais próximo que o Google me indicou e reservei minha cama (já eram 22h). Cheguei lá pelas 4h da manhã (depois de um papo ótimo e longo com um amigo) e até de noite já percebi que aquele lugar era especial. Conheça “Pontal Hostel“.

That was the view from my bed. “WOW!” was everything I could think (oh, and of course “Thank you, God” lol). After a natural first shock, of course I ran to Instagram (a follower yet? @aggiesantos) to post it hahaha. Anyway, my room was a shared room for girls with 6 beds, and for those that think hostels are unsafe, Pontal has privates little safes next to each bed, where you can put valuable items. It was the most perfect place for me.

Essa era a vista da minha cama. “UAU!” foi a única coisa que consegui pensar (ah, e claro “Muito obrigada, meu Deus!” rs). Depois do choque inicial, obviamente corri para postar no Insta (já tá seguindo?? @aggiesantos?). Enfim, meu quarto era um comunitário para meninas, com 6 camas. E para aqueles que pensam que albergues não são seguros, o Pontal tem armários individuais do lado de cada cama, para você guardar coisas de mais valor. Era o lugar mais perfeito pra mim.

The place looks like a family beach house. Very cozy, chilled, and pleasant. Just the way a hostel should be. Unfortunately I had to leave right after I woke up (Thursday is what a VERY full day. Yay!) so I couldn’t make the best of their amenities as much as I wanted. But I did enjoyed the free trypical brazilian breakfast, with breads, cheese, slices of ham, cake, juices, milk, coffee and lots of fresh fruit. Just perfect! Oh, on my next visit, I promise to spend a Sunday afternoon in a hammock blogging. Oh, just the thought…

O lugar parece uma casa de família na praia. Bem aconchegante, fofo e agradável, do jeitinho que um albergue deve ser. Infelizmente tive que ir embora logo depois de acordar e não tive tempo de aproveitar as amenidades como gostaria. Mas arrasei no café-da-manhã incluso. Bem brasileiro mesmo, com pães, frios, bolos, sucos, leite, café e muitas frutas frescas. Perfeito. Ah, na minha próxima visita, prometo que vou me jogar em uma dessas redes em um domingo à tarde e bloggar. Ai, só de pensar…

And you step out of the place to find this. C’MON!!!! What you want from me?!?!? hahaha The hostel is located in a beach in Rio called “Macumba Beach”, in the neighborhood of “Recreio”. A very calm place, perfect for a stroll in a cute bike early in the morning, and too chill with friends like there’s no tomorrow. I found where I want to live in Rio… No better place. Not even the hip of Copacabana.

I’ve been in many hostel (in Santa Barbara, Paris, Madrid…) but no doubt “Pontal Hostel” is the BEST one! There’s not even a competition. Really! So my tip is: even if you’re a millionaire, spend a couple of days there in your next visit to Rio. Book a private room, and enjoy this petit gem. But if you like to save cash no matter what, call a bunch of your best friends, share a room and book a week there. However, if you are a solo-traveler kind of person (such as myself) book a shared room, and take this opportunity to make some new friends. I didn’t have time to socialize this time, but I’ve always found some amazing and fun people at the hostel’s I’ve stayed.

Aí você pisa para fora pra encontrar isso. PELAMOR!!! O que vocês querem de mim?!?!?! hahaha O albergue é localizada na Praia da Macumba, no Recreio. Um lugar supercalmo, perfeito para um passeio em uma bike fofa de manhãzinha, e para descansar com amigos como se não houvesse amanhã. Achei onde quero morar no Rio… Não há melhor. Nem o fervo de Copabacana.

Estive em muitos albergues (em Santa Barbara, Paris, Madrid…) mas sem dúvida o “Pontal Hostel” é o MELHOR! Nem dá para comparar. Sério! Então minha dica é: mesmo que você seja milionário, passe uns dias lá na sua próxima visita ao Rio. Reserve um quarto privativo e aproveite o visual. Mas se você for um daqueles que não perde a oportunidade para economizar uma grana, marque com uma turma legal de amigos, feche um quarto comunitário para a galera e aproveite uma semana. Todavida, se você é um viajador solista (como essa pessoa que vos fala) reserve um quarto comunitário e aproveite essa oportunidade para fazer amigos novos. Não tive tempo de socializar dessa vez, mas sempre achei umas pessoas superlegais nos albergues em que fiquei.

Have a marvelous weekend! And thank you for reading!
Agatha xo

. info
Pontal Hostel
6, Paulo Tapajós Avenue
Praia da Macumba, Recreio
Rio de Janeiro
Zipcode 22795-740
Phone +55 21 3269-0851
Email contato@pontalhostel.com.br

2 thoughts on “The Beach Heaven

Leave a comment