Tales of Life: Sorry and Thank You

First and foremost, I would like to apologize. To you, who likes reading what I post and continues coming back even though I haven’t showed up for a week (or was it more? To tell you the truth, I stopped counting…). But most importantly, I would like to apologize to myself.

Blogging has been my favorite past time since I’m 15, but from time to time (specially when things get rough) I quit. Don’t know exactly why… it just happens. However, this time I refuse to succumb to that urge. Call it self-sabotage (when we stop doing something we love just because things are not working out, so we think that that thing is a waste of time, just like everything else). Well, it’s not! I need this… my writing, my place, where I can say whatever I want and get away with it because it’s truly mine, and only mine. Today, on American Thankgiving, I just wanted to apologize and thank your time (and my time) for making this a safe place for me to share whatever I adore, whatever fear I may have, whatever doubt, or whatever crazy dream my dear heart houses. So thank you.

In 2010 and 2011 I had this habit of waking up and spending 10 minutes saying out loud all the things I was thankful for that morning. Such as the weather, being alive, staying healthy, having food at the house… Those pretty basics life’s items. The great thing about that ritual (among many others) is that I got really good in it, and soon started adding more complex and meaningful goodies in my list. I started thanking for this amazing life I was given the opportunity to live, for my loving and caring parents who always go out of their way to make my dreams come true, for my incredible housemates who I got to build a beautiful family far away from the original one, for my true family who even though we didn’t speak much still cared deeply for me from thousand of miles away, for my school that had the most startling campus I’ve seen, for this ongoing wish and thrill to accomplish things and feel happily alive, for all the people I knew because they all taught me something, for being on my own and living my life as I pleased… In the end, 10 minutes were a little too short to fill all of my thanks. Every day I did that, my day was filled with joy and laughter. Not trying to be cliche, but they were. I don’t remember being that happy.

I really don’t know why or when I stopped doing it. It felt so spectacular! I want to start doing it again. Would you join me? And tell me if it helped you in some way?? I sure will tell you.

*.*

Primeiramente, eu gostaria de me desculpar. À você, que lê meus posts and continua voltando mesmo depois de eu ficar uma semana sem aparecer (ou será que foi mais? Para falar a verdade, eu parei de contar…). Mas o mais importante é que eu gostaria de pedir desculpas a minha mesma.

Escrever em blogs tem sido minha atividade favorita desde os meus 15 anos, mas de tempos em tempos (especialmente quando as coisas ficam mais tensas), eu paro. Não sei bem o por quê… Só acontece. Mas dessa vez eu me recuso a me entregar a esse desejo. Chame de auto-sabotagem (quando nós paramos de fazer algo que amamos só porque outras coisas não estão dando certo, e portanto achamos que tudo é uma perda de tempo). Bom, não é! Eu preciso disso… escrever, um lugar meu onde posso falar o que eu quiser e sair ilesa porque é realmente meu, é somente meu. Hoje, no dia de Ação de Graças americano, eu gostaria de pedir desculpas e agradecer seu esforço (e meu esforço) em transformar esse espaço em um lugar seguro para as coisas que amo, que temo, minhas dúvidas e qualquer sonho que habita meu querido coração. Então, obrigada.

Em 2010 e 2011 eu tinha um hábito de acordar e passar 10 minutos agradecendo por todas as coisas que eu era agradecida naquela manhã. Como o tempo, estar viva, permanecer saudável, ter comida em casa… Items básicos de cada dia. A parte maravilhosa desse ritual (entre muitas outras coisas) era que comecei a ficar bem boa nele e logo fui adicionando bens mais complexos à minha lista. Comecei a agradecer pela vida incrível que eu estava tendo a oportunidade de viver, pelos amorosos e preocupados pais que sempre fazem de tudo para realizar meus sonhos, pelas meninas que moravam comigo e me ajudaram a criar uma família longe da original, pela minha família de verdade que mesmo sem muita conversa entre nós sempre se preocuparam comigo a MUITOS kilometros de distância, pela minha faculdade que tinha o campus mais lindo que já vi na vida, pelo desejo e felicidade de sempre fazer algo, por sempre ser feliz vivendo, por todas as pessoas que eu conheci pois todas me ensinaram algo, por estar vivendo sozinha e como bem entendesse… No final, aqueles 10 minutos não eram suficientes para todas as coisas que eu queria agradecer. Todos os dias que fiz isso foram repletos de alegria e risadas. Não quero soar clichê, mas eles foram. Eu não lembro em estar tão feliz.

Não sei quando ou porque parei. Era tão espetacular! Quero começar a fazer de novo. Vamos juntos? E me conta se te ajudou de algum jeito? Eu com certeza vou te contar.

(Não são pessoas felizes que são agradecidas. São pessoas agradecidas que são felizes.)

One thought on “Tales of Life: Sorry and Thank You

  1. Pingback: Monday’s Thought | Agatha's Blog

Leave a Reply

