Stomach to All

Last week I promised that I was going to do a Moodboard on the biggest trend on 2012: the cropped top. Before, let me share a secret of mine: I’m a huge pop girl. All of that started in my teenage years. I was fascinated with Britney and Christina. They were the best to me, my own personal role models and fashion icons #goodtimes (before head shaving and lost of control situations). In 2003, I had a group dance presentation in school which I put my foot down saying that we had to dance “Lucky” and dress the part. Well, we got declassified because of our costumes (brought straight from these video). The nuns didn’t appreciated my inspiration. Anyway, my connection with the cropped top comes from way back, and I couldn’t be happier to see it again so soon.

Semana passada prometi fazer um Moodboard sobre a maior tendência de 2012: o cropped top. Antes, vou revelar um segredo para vocês: Sou total garota pop. Tudo começou na minha adolescência. Eu era fascinada pela Britney e Christina. Elas eram as melhores para mim, minhas inspirações de vida e ícones da moda #bonstempos (antes de rasparem a cabeça e perderem o controle). Em 2003, tive uma apresentação de dança no colégio e fiz questão que nós dançassemos “Lucky” do jeito Britney de ser. Bom, fomos desclassificadas pelo fugurino (trazido diretamente desse vídeo). As freiras não gostaram da minha inspiração. Enfim, minha conexão com o cropped top vem de tempos atrás e eu não poderia estar mais feliz que ele tenha voltado tão cedo.

moodboardcroppedtop
Although, now it comes with a twist. If in the late 90’s/earlier 2000, the belly button from frowned upon, now it is a BIG no no. The exposed area can’t be more than around the stomach. I love this sexy “appropriate” vibe! Personally I like when it’s mixed with a masculine piece, such as blazers and trousers or with the idea of “tight versus loose”. In my early teen years, I didn’t quite understand the affects of wearing things that are too tight or too revealing, but now I learned (the same way Britney did) that is best to keep some things to the imaginary. The cropped top does it perfectly, giving the idea of “You wish you could see the rest.” #hottiemagnet

What about you? Are you up for it??

Porém, ele voltou mudado. Se no final dos anos 90/começo dos anos 2000, o umbigo já era alvo de caretas, agora ele precisa ficar escondido mesmo! A área exposta não pode passar do estomâgo. Amo essa vibe sexy “apropriada”! Pessoalmente gosto quando é misturada com uma peça mais masculina, tipo alfaiataria ou naquele jogo de “apertado mais folgado”. Na minha adolescência, eu não entendia os efeitos de usar roupas muito curtas ou apertadas, mas agora aprendi (assim como a Britney aprendeu) que o melhor é deixar algumas coisas para o imaginário. O cropped top faz isso perfeitamente, dando aquela idea de “Você gostaria que pudesse ver mais” #imãdebofes

E quanto a você? Embarcou na tendência??

Thanks for reading!
Agatha xo

ps: Even thought Christina totally lost her spark to me, I still love Britney! She rocks! Although, she lost the “role model” title.

ps: Mesmo que Christian tenha perdido seu brilho completamente na minha opinião, ainda amo a Britney! Ela é demais! Mas devo dizer que ela perdeu o título de “minha inspiração”.

Leave a Reply

