DIY: Tie Dye Shorts

I made a Moodboard about the subject a couple of weeks back, hoping that I would gain the patience to do my first DIY project. Well, yesterday, with the house to myself, the right utensils and all the time in the world, I did it: My own personal and one of a kind Tie Dyed Denim Shorts! And now I’m here to teach you how to make one for yourself.

Eu fiz esse Moodboard sobre o assunto há umas duas semanas, esperando que a paciência para fazer meu primeiro projeto DIY (do-it-yourself) chegasse. Bom, ontem, com a casa só para mim, os utensilíos certos e todo o tempo do mundo, eu consegui: Fiz meu único e lindo shorts tie dye! E agora estou aqui para te mostrar como fazer o seu.

dyitiedyeshorts

STEP 1: Take a old denim shorts (or pants). Get some good scissors, a razor (I don’t know the english name for the object I used, help!), and bleach. With a pen, make a small mark in your short of where do you want to cut them.
STEP 2: Cut them. The pen marks are important so there are not too short.
STEP 3: Take the scissors and destroy the ends. Then use the razor to destroy other parts of the short. I just used the parts that were already there.
STEP 4: Put the bleach in a bucket. The amount would depend of how high you want to dye your shorts. Dip the shorts there, and let it sit for 30 minutes. Rinse with water, and throw the bleach away.
STEP 5: Put bleach in the bucket again (don’t use the old one, it might stain your shorts and not in the good way). In the second time, I put less of bleach, so I would end up with a gradient color. Put the shorts in there again, and let it sit for another 30 minutes.
STEP 6: Don’t rise them again! Just take them out of the bleach and hang in a place where there’s sun. Note: don’t let it sit in something made of fabric, your mom (or yourself) could be very angry if her patio chair ends up with a huge stain. Wait until it’s the shade you want.
STEP 7: Wash it. Don’t put anything else in the machine! Please.

Done! A beautiful and new shorts to walk around! And I liked so much that I already wore lol

PASSO 1: Separe um shorts jeans (ou uma calça). Pegue uma tesoura, estilete e água sanitária. Com uma caneta, marque onde você quer cortá-lo.
PASSO 2: Corte ele. A marca da caneta é importante para não ficar curto demais.
PASSO 3: Com a tesoura, destrua a barra. Aí com o estilete, dê aquele ar de velho nele. Não precisa ficar com medo, vai fundo! O meu ficou discreto porque só acentuei os destruídos que já tinha (o meu estilete não estava muito afiado).
PASSO 4: Despeje a água sanitária em um balde. A quantidade vai variar porque aí você que sabe até onde quer que ele fique manchado. Eu coloquei até um pouco mais da metada de shorts. Coloque ele lá, e deixe por 30 minutos. Enxágue e troque a água sanitária.
PASSO 5: Coloque água sanitária nova no balde (para não manchar o shorts). Da segunda vez, eu coloquei menos água sanitária, porque eu queria que ficassse um efeito degrade. Coloque o shorts lá e deixe por mais 30 minutos.
PASSO 6: Não enxágue de novo. Só coloque no varal (de preferência no sol) e deixe lá até ficar da cor que você quer.
PASSO 7: Lave. Não coloque com mais nada na máquina! Você não quer acabar com camisas manchadas, né?

E pronto! Um shorts novinho em folha para desfilar! E gostei tanto que já usei rs

dyitiedieshortsresult

Tell me how yours turned out??

Me conta como ficou o seu??

Thank you for reading!
Agatha xo

credits:
. shirt MonoPrix (bought in Paris)
. shorts Forever 21 (bought in L.A.)
. shoes Steve Madden (bought in L.A.)
. Sunglasses Rayban (bought in São Paulo)

ps: sorry for not taking pictures of the entire process, but my iPhone failed me :(

ps: desculpa por não colocar fotos de todos o processo, mas o iPhone não ajudou :(

5 thoughts on “DIY: Tie Dye Shorts

  1. Pingback: Cruise: Keep Calm and Lounge | Agatha's Blog

Leave a Reply

