Tales of Life: 2013 and the number 23.

So it’s 2013… the world didn’t end and today I’m turning 23 years old. Wow! To tell the truth is sounds like such a small number. I’m young and I feel young. There’s so much to live and things to accomplish that it feels to me that my life only began just now. Is that weird? Especially since I’ve been around for the past 23 years? I don’t know.

I did my goals’ list for 2013, and I love it so much that I can’t wait to spend my 23rd year doing whatever it takes to make all of them real. But I learned something with those lists: We have to be mentally ready, because not all of the items will get crossed off. And that’s ok. It’s life. Sometimes we can’t do everything we want, and the most important thing is to let go. Just let it go and see what happens. In 2012 I learned to do that a lot.

I’m glad to be where I’m right now, just here, sitting on my bed and writing this. My parents’ place surround me and I feel safe. This is where I’m meant to be now. Not in an apartment in Hollywood (one of the items of last year’s list), where the fragility of easiness would be everything I would know. No. Here, I can think of ways to express my creativity, read books, listen to music, do things that won’t give me any money just for the experience, write and write, think of a plan that suits me completely (and follow it through)… I can be me. Young, scared, decided, happy, sad, intelligent, foolish, sexy, unattractive… All those nuances that describe me and only me.

Finally I found myself again. I had to come back to where everything started and begin again. My self-knowledge bag is so big that once I got my head together, everything was easier and I knew what do to. That apartment in Hollywood still waits for me, but easiness is not something I will understand when that home of mine finally welcomes me. Thank heavens! But that is then, and now will only happen once.

Today is a happy day. I’m turning 23 years old. Gosh! Happy Birthday to me. And to the best day of the year, all I can say is: Welcome home baby. You finally got here!

*.*

Então é 2013… O mundo não acabou e hoje faço 23 anos de idade. Uau! Para falar a verdade, me parece um número bem pequeno. Sou jovem e me sinto jovem. Tem tenta coisa para viver e tantas coisas a serem feitas que me parece que a vida acabou de começar. Isso é estranho? Especialmente já que estive por aqui pelos últimos 23 anos? Sei lá.

Fiz minha lista de metas para 2013 e amei tanto que mal posso esperar para passar meu 23º ano de vida fazendo o que for para torná-los realidade. Mas aprendi uma coisa com essas listas: Precisamos estar mentalmente prontos, porque não são todos os itens que serão riscados. E tudo bem. As vezes, as coisas não vão do jeito que esperamos e a arte do desapego é muito importante nessas horas. Deixar as coisas irem embora e ver o que acontece. Em 2012, aprendi muito isso.

Estou feliz de estar aqui agora, somente aqui, sentada na cama e escrevendo esse texto. O apartamento dos meus pais me envolve e me sinto segura. Aqui é onde eu deveria estar. Não em um apartamento em Hollywood (um dos itens da lista do ano passado), onde a fragilidade da facilidade seria a única coisa que conheceria. Não. Aqui, posso pensar em jeitos de expressar minha criatividade, ler livros, ouvir música, fazer coisas que não me dão dinheiro, somente experiência, escrever e escrever, pensar em um plano feito exclusivamente para mim (e seguí-lo)… Posso ser eu mesma. Jovem, medrosa, decidida, feliz, triste, inteligente, boba, sexy, pouco atraente… Todas essas nuances que me descrevem e somente a mim.

Finalmente me encontrei novamente. Tive que voltar para a largada e começar de novo. Minha mala de auto-conhecimento está tão grande que no momento que coloquei a cabeça no lugar, tudo foi fácil e eu sabia exatamente o que fazer. O apartamento em Hollywood ainda me espera, mas facilidade não será algo que entenderei quando aquele lar meu finalmente der suas boas-vindas. Graças aos céus! Mas isso é lá para frente e o agora só vai acontecer uma vez.

Hoje é um dia feliz. Faço 23 anos de idade. Nossa! Feliz Aniversário para mim. E para o melhor dia do ano, só posso falar: Seja bem-vindo amor. Você finalmente chegou!

2 thoughts on “Tales of Life: 2013 and the number 23.

Leave a Reply

