Tales of Life: Need of Makeup

Question: Does makeup define women?

I think not. Really do. Yes, surely a “maked-up” face looks well put together, and if it’s done correctly, can really enhance a woman’s best features, but does that mean a woman without makeup is inadequate and less prettier? Hell, no! I already said here that I’m not a big fan. My mother never wears makeup and a dermatologist once told her that her skin could be mistaken by a completion of a 25-year-old girl. WTF? With that kind of role model and DNA, why would I bother using the heavy duty barbie-doll combo?

I’ve been thinking about this for a quite a while: To wear or not to wear? Especially after receiving a comment about my lack of during a nice dinner. Well, that day (as the majority of social gatherings) I had concealer, blush and mascara. For me it’s more than enough. I do understand though that some girls think it’s the most important thing to wear it in a 24/7 basis. That’s fine! Have a blast. I just don’t understand the reason behind it.

We live in a society that is obsessed with beauty and perfection. We like to read magazines about the top 100 most beautiful women, watch youtube beauty gurus, spend a crazy amount of money on things other people say we should, to be in front of the mirror for 2 hours just getting ready for a pointless club to really just make an impression on our friends… Don’t get me wrong, I’ve done those things too. It doesn’t make us bad people, only makes us human.

My question is not whether you are vain or futile because you wear makeup like second skin. My question is why it became so necessary? Halle Berry and Kate Hudson have said they don’t like wearing it and that they prefer letting their skin breath during “normal” life. Wow, if celebrities (people who we expect to be perfectly beautiful all-day everyday) don’t care for it, why did we make it so damn important?

For me there are things that are way more important than worrying about if we look perfect. We don’t! Ever. Humans are not meant to be perfect. Our flaws are what make me beautiful. Besides, our outside is only a shell. Yes, I like fashion. Yes, I like wearing pretty things that make me feel good. Yes, I like taking care of my appearance. However it’s not the most crucial subjects to be concern. What about how to make yourself truly happy and satisfied with the life you live? Or how can you help your friends and your family to accomplish their dreams? Or how you can help your community?

Surely, you can disagree and say that to wear a great makeup and to be dressed impeccably doesn’t change what you to for the world. Yes, I’m not doubting you, you can also be a fantastic person. However a woman without much makeup can be as vain as someone addicted to Sephora. It doesn’t mean that a person is sloppier, inadequate and less pretty than the other. To me, we all have the right to not put – or to put – anything we want in our faces. We’re all worthy of excellence. A primer and a highlighter won’t dictate the kind of person we are.

*.*

Pergunta: Maquiagem define a mulher?

Eu acho que não. Não mesmo. Claro, um rosto bem maquiado fica bonito e se feito corretamente, pode mesmo realçar os pontos mais fortes de uma mulher, mas isso significa que uma mulher sem maquiagem é inadequada e menos bonita? Não e não! Eu já falei aqui que não sou muito fã. Minha mãe nunca usa maquiagem e uma dermatologista já falou pra ela que sua pele é de alguém de 25 anos. PQP! Com esse tipo de modelo e DNA, porque eu me incomodaria em montar um rostinho de boneca toda vez antes de sair de casa?

Tenho pensado nisso há um tempo: Usar ou não usar? Especialmente depois de receber um comentário sobre meu rosto lavado. Bom, naquele dia (como na maioria de reuniões sociais) eu estava com corretivo, blush e rímel. Para mim, isso já é mais do que suficiente. Até entendo porque algumas meninas acham que é importante usar 24 horas por dia. Sem problemas! Divirtam-se. Só não entendo a razão por trás.

Nós vivemos em um sociedade obcecada pela beleza e perfeição. Gostamos de ler revistas que falam sobre as 100 mulheres mais lindas do mundo, assistir gurus de beleza no youtube, gastar uma quantia absurda de dinheiro em coisas que outras pessoas acham ser imprescindíveis, ficar na frente do espelho por 2 horas somente nos arrumando para uma balada sem sentido só para impressionar as amigas… Não me entenda errado, já fiz essas coisas também. Nada disso nos transforma em pessoas ruins, só nos faz humanos.

Minha pergunta não é se você é vaidosa ou fútil porque usa maquiagem como se fosse segunda pele. Minha pergunta é porque isso se tornou tão necessário? Halle Berry e Kate Hudson já disseram que não gostam de usar no dia-a-dia, preferem deixar a pele respirando. Uau, se celebridades (pessoas que esperamos que sejam perfeitamente lindas todo o dia, todos os dias) não dão tanta importância, porque nós damos todo esse crédito para um make super-hiper-mega incrível?

Para mim, há coisas mais importantes do que se preocupar se nós parecemos perfeitas. Esquece! Nunca estamos perfeitos. Humanos não foram feitos para serem perfeitos. Nossas falhas nos fazem bonitas. Além do mais, nosso exterior é só uma fachada. Sim, gosto de moda. Sim, gosto de usa coisas bonitas que me fazem sentir bem. Sim, gosto de cuidar da minha aparência. Contudo não é a coisa mais importante para se preocupar. Que tal fazer de tudo para ser feliz e satisfeito de verdade com a vida? Ou em ajudar os amigos e a família a realizarem seus sonhos? Ou em ajudar outras pessoas que não são super próximas a você?

Claro, você pode discordar e dizer que estar maquiada e bem-vestida não tem nada a ver com o que faz pelo mundo. Sim, não duvido que esteja errada, você também pode ser uma pessoa incrível. Mas uma mulher sem muita maquiagem pode também ser tão vaidosa quanto alguém viciada na Sephora. Isso não significa que uma pessoa seja mais desleixada, inadequada ou menos bonita que a outra. Para mim, todos temos o direito de não colocar – ou colocar – o que quisermos em nossos rostos. Somos todos dignos de excelência. Não é um primer e um iluminador que ditarão o tipo de pessoas que somos.

 

One thought on “Tales of Life: Need of Makeup

  1. Pingback: Instagram Finds: Makeup as Art | Agatha's Blog

Leave a Reply

